The Scranton Chapter of UNICO National, an Italian American Service organization, would like to recognize an outstanding male and an outstanding female athlete at our June meeting. Two (2) first place winners will be awarded $2,000
The award is for outstanding accomplishments and achievements in any sport at the high school level during any or all four (4) years of high school.  This award is not solely based on athletic accomplishments, it is meant to honor the athlete that has displayed the same qualities and characteristics of Brian Piccolo. Piccolo’s determination, hard work, integrity, leadership, courage, loyalty, friendship, teamwork, dedication, sense of humor and anti-bias all contributed to his success.  His courage in the face of adversity, his strength, faith, and goodwill to man was what made Brian Piccolo the legend he is and is what this award is meant to recognize.
The following criteria has been established for the nomination:
A graduating senior
Italian American Heritage
Monetary Award to be used for education and/or certification
More than one (1) athlete may be nominated in each sport and in each school.  
The recipient, along with his/her parents/guardian/s and the person who nominated them will be the guests of the Scranton Chapter UNICO at our June meeting.
Please help us to recognition our Lackawanna County athletes by having your student see their guidance councilor for more information

The Scranton Chapter presented scholarships to two students as part of the Brian Piccolo Scholarship program of UNICO National. The recipients were selected through a blind vetting process from submissions to the Piccolo Committee and the Chapter Board of Directors. Each scholarship is worth $2,000 toward the recipient’s further education. From left: committee member Ann Genett; recipient Antonia Piraino, a Lakeland School District senior who will study physical therapy at the University of Pittsburgh; recipient Dominic DeSando, a Dunmore School District senior who will study accounting at West Chester University, committee members Lisa Bieri, chair, and Cindy Farino.